Understanding Your Rights and Responsibilities in the State of Ohio
Domestic violence affects millions of individuals across the United States regardless of age, race, religion, or sexual identity. It is often characterized as a pattern of controlling and coercive behavior that can include physical, emotional, financial, or mental abuse.
If you or someone you know has been involved in a domestic violence dispute, it’s essential to understand your rights in the state of Ohio so you can take the best course of action for a brighter future ahead.
What Options are Available to Victims?
As a victim of domestic violence, it is always important to understand that abuse is not your fault and that you are not alone. In the state of Ohio, you have a variety of options once a domestic violence dispute has happened and has been reported to the proper authorities.
Once documented by police, victims have several protections available in addition to criminal prosecution. These include:
- Protective Orders – Victims of domestic violence can apply for a temporary restraining order. This court order must be signed by a judge designed to offer victims protection.
- Civil Lawsuit – A civil lawsuit can be filed by a victim to cover medical expenses or pain and suffering brought on by the abuse.
- Child or Spousal Support Orders – To prevent any future incidents, child or spousal support agreements can be modified.
Due to the nature of domestic violence charges, cases can not be dropped once a prosecutor’s office has issued a charge. If you are a victim of domestic violence you need to contact a lawyer who specializes in domestic violence cases, like the Law Offices of Kenneth R. Kline, and can help you make the right decisions for your family’s future.
What Options are Available for Individuals Facing Domestic Abuse Charges?
For individuals convicted of domestic violence charges, there are several possible penalties  they could face in Ohio.
- 1st-degree misdemeanor – Maximum of six months in jail and/or fines up to $1000
- 2nd-degree misdemeanor – Maximum of 90 days in prison and/or fines up to $750
- 3rd-degree misdemeanor – Maximum of 60 days in jail and/or fines up to $500
- 5th-degree felony – Six to 12 months in prison and a fine up to $2500
- 4th-degree felony – Six to 18 months in prison and a fine up to $5000
- 3rd-degree felony – Nine months to three years in jail and a fine up to $10,000
If you or someone you know is involved in a domestic violence dispute, it’s in your best interest to meet with a domestic violence lawyer. A criminal defense lawyer can help to examine the statements you made at the time of your arrest. They can also obtain any records of injury or trauma by a victim, check your past criminal record, and assess if your story is corroborated or refuted by evidence obtained on the scene.
Some possible defense options for accused individuals include:
- False allegations or lies
- Burden of proof
How The Law Offices of Kenneth R. Kline Can Help Navigate Domestic Violence Cases in Ohio
Whether you are a victim of domestic abuse or have been charged with a crime of violence, we understand that sensitivity is critical. Our goal is to create an even playing field and navigate the emotional toll domestic violence cases can have on all parties involved. It is our best to mediate the process in a way that leads to positive and healthy outcomes.
At Kenneth R. Kline, our criminal defense attorney is responsive, accessible, and forthcoming every step of the way. We understand that Ohio domestic violence laws are complicated, and we can help you navigate the process confidently and efficiently.
Learn More About Our Columbus, Ohio Domestic Violence Attorney
The Law Offices of Kenneth R. Kline is located in Columbus, Ohio, and proudly serves families in and around Grove City, Reynoldsburg, Westerville, Upper Arlington, and Franklin County. Trust our expertise to help you navigate domestic violence charges in the state of Ohio. Schedule a risk-free consultation  to learn more about your options as a victim or an accused party.